HUH!

Hemingway's room

I recently checked out a book of essays by Doris Lessing from the library – a writer I am not familiar with — found by mere happenstance and selected entirely by virtue of fact that the first essay was about Jane Austen and “Pride and Prejudice,” a favorite writer and an all-time favorite book.

So I was floored when in the course of reading the book, it turns out that practically every other essay (exaggerating a bit) addresses or mentions a Persian-centric topic — ranging from Sa’adi to dervishes and Sufis, to Rumi and Ferdosi and Shanameh, to oh my God, an essay even discussing the very obscure Kalileh & Demneh!

….. While contemplating this very thought, and marveling at how I seem to be on an “All Persian All the Time” channel of consciousness, I opened the book at complete random and was greeted by this paragraph:

“It is a fact as yet unknown to science that when you tackle a new subject then suddenly it is everywhere, on the television, in the newspapers, on the radio, people start talking about it, an overheard conversation on a bus — there it is again, and a book falls open at just that relevant place.”

I mean …!!!  

………………………….

11 thoughts on “HUH!

    • That video is not mine – it’s WordPress running their stooopid ads :(( I’ll have to fork over a bunch of money if I don’t want their videos on my posts …

      On the bright side: yes, sometimes all it takes is asking and keeping an open eye 🙂

  1. Haha, so often we experience this synchronicity, there is so much out there we don’t know!!! I love the writing of Doris Lessing, though have never read her short stories. I’m off to the library

    • There really is, the mystery is fascinating and enticing and … mysterious, ha ha! The book of essay is called Time Bites – would love to hear how you find it. Healthy Epicurean has suggested “The Grass is Singing” by Lessingso I’m definitely going to try that one. Since you’re a fan, any of her writing that you would recommend?

      • The most powerful book I have read of Lessings is The Fifth Child. If you are a mother you will find it gut wrenching, you’ll put it down swearing you can’t go on, but you will. Despite society’s belief that children are shaped by nurture and nature, this goes some distance to creating a third scenario. Enough said, read it.😄

    • Busted! I’m busted that is. 🙂 Honestly this was a quickie post so I just grabbed the first image in my portfolio archive that kind of sort of went with the mood – the mood being: surreal and a bit spooky. Does that make sense?

  2. I’ll definitely put that on my to-read list. I’m so thrilled to be back to reading books and taking massive chunks of time off this here innernetZ so I’m actually optimistic that I will get to read “The Grass is Singing” sometime soon. Thanks for recco!!! Hope you’re not longer living with a moat & HUGE egg-legged creatures 😉

  3. Pingback: Sweet Basil, Muffins, Moosh & … Weiner! | Fig & Quince

  4. Pingback: Sweet Basil, Muffins, Moosh … & Weiner! | 7 Legs

Leave a Reply

